Grand Canyon tours from Las Vegas
Which rim to aim for, how to get there, and how much of the day you get at the edge.
Written by Eric Updated October 2026
Booking links on this page go to GetYourGuide or Expedia, and this site earns a commission if you book through one, at no extra cost to you. More
The short answer: the West Rim (Grand Canyon West) is the realistic day trip from Las Vegas. It is 2.5 to 3 hours' drive from the Strip, and a bus tour gives you 3 to 4 hours there. It is run by the Hualapai Tribe, not the National Park Service, so park passes don't work and the 2026 $100 nonresident fee doesn't apply. The South Rim is Grand Canyon National Park itself, about 4 hours 45 minutes away, and the usual bus tour is a 14-hour day with 3 hours in the park. No day tour from Las Vegas goes to the North Rim.
Grand Canyon from Las Vegas at a glance
- West Rim drive
- 2.5 to 3 hours, about 127 miles
- South Rim drive
- About 4 hours 45 minutes, about 281 miles
- West Rim entry
- $59 Sunset Pass, $67 General Admission or $99 All-Access, plus tax
- South Rim entry
- $35 per private vehicle, valid 7 days
- Nonresident fee
- $100 per person 16+ at the South Rim; none at the West Rim
- Park passes
- Accepted at the South Rim, not at Grand Canyon West
- Clocks
- Arizona 1 hour ahead of Las Vegas, Nov 1, 2026 to Mar 14, 2027
- Bus tour length
- West Rim 11 to 12 hours; South Rim 14 hours
How far is the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas?
From Las Vegas, "the Grand Canyon" can mean three places, and the two inside the national park are about twice as far as the nearest one.
Grand Canyon West is about 127 miles from the middle of the Strip. The figures for the drive disagree. The National Park Service says about 2 hours 15 minutes, Grand Canyon West's own site says "a quick, easy and scenic two hour drive" on one page and 2.5 hours on another, and a routing engine with no stops puts it at about 2 hours 45 minutes. Plan on 2.5 to 3 hours, and longer with a stop at Hoover Dam. The most-reviewed West Rim bus schedules about 3.5 hours for the trip out, stops included.
The South Rim is about 281 miles from the Strip and about 4 hours 45 minutes with no stops. Most guides round that down to 4.5 hours. The North Rim is about 270 miles, close to 5 hours, and in 2026 it has very little waiting for you when you get there.
West Rim vs South Rim (and the North Rim)
The rims are not two viewpoints on the same park. Grand Canyon West is on the Hualapai Reservation and the tribe runs it as a business. The South and North Rims are Grand Canyon National Park, run by the National Park Service. That is why park passes and the new nonresident fee stop at the West Rim's gate.
| West Rim (Grand Canyon West) | South Rim | North Rim | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Drive from the Strip | 2.5 to 3 hours, about 127 miles | About 4 h 45 min, about 281 miles | About 4 h 50 min, about 270 miles |
| Who runs it | Hualapai Tribe, on the Hualapai Reservation | National Park Service | National Park Service |
| Entry | $59 Sunset Pass (after 3pm), $67 General Admission, $99 All-Access; tax extra | $35 per private vehicle or $20 per person on foot or bike, valid 7 days | Grand Canyon National Park entry |
| National park passes | Not accepted | Accepted | Accepted |
| $100 nonresident fee | Does not apply | Applies, per person aged 16+, tours included | Applies |
| What you see | Eagle Point (the Skywalk) and Guano Point, linked by a free shuttle | Mather Point, Yavapai Geology Museum, Hermit Road viewpoints by shuttle | Remote rim with limited services |
| July average high | About 96°F (rough figure from an old nearby station) | About 87°F | About 79°F |
| Time at the canyon on a typical tour | 3 to 4 hours on an 11 to 12 hour bus day | 3 hours on a 14-hour bus day | No day tours from Las Vegas |
| 2026 status | Open every day | Open; Hermit Road closed to private cars through Nov 30, 2026 | Open through Nov 30, 2026 or first major snow; lodge destroyed by fire |
Las Vegas averages about 105°F in July for comparison. Las Vegas and South and North Rim figures are 1991 to 2020 averages from NOAA station data; the West Rim figure comes from a nearby station's 1963 to 1984 record.
The case for the West Rim
It is close enough to do without wrecking the next day. The bus tours leave the Strip in the morning and are back the same evening, with 3 to 4 hours at the canyon, and nearly all of them stop at Hoover Dam on the way. You ride a free shuttle between Eagle Point, where the Skywalk is, and Guano Point. It is also the only rim the Las Vegas helicopter tours fly to. Four adults visiting from abroad pay $400 in nonresident fees on a South Rim tour and nothing at the West Rim.
Against it: you pay a private operator rather than a park fee, and General Admission and most of the cheaper bus tours leave the Skywalk out. The Skywalk tickets guide has the pass-by-pass detail.
The case for the South Rim
This is the national park, and the classic view from Mather Point is here. The rim is high and much cooler than Las Vegas in summer, about 87°F on an average July afternoon against about 105°F on the Strip. US visitors with an America the Beautiful pass get in on it. The South Rim bus tour on GetYourGuide visits Mather Point, the Bright Angel trailhead area and the Trail of Time, and passes El Tovar, Hopi House and Kolb Studio.
The cost is time: 14 hours for 3 hours in the park, most of the rest on a bus. If you are not a US resident, budget the $100 per-person fee on top of the tour price; the South Rim bus listing names it as an exclusion. Winter lows up there average around 18°F. One tour listing calls the weather similar to Las Vegas. It isn't.
The North Rim in 2026
The North Rim is open through November 30, 2026, or until the first major snowstorm, according to the Park Service's status page. That is later than the usual mid-October close, and the Park Service's own FAQ still gives the old season. But the historic Grand Canyon Lodge burned in the 2025 Dragon Bravo Fire, and there is no lodging there in 2026. The campground is closed until a tentative reopening on May 15, 2027, the general store closed on October 15, and the gas station is shut for the season, so the nearest fuel is at Jacob Lake. The Cape Royal and Point Imperial roads are closed until sunrise on November 3, 2026. No tour runs there from Las Vegas as a day trip, and I wouldn't try it as one in a car either.
Bus, van, plane or helicopter
Tour listings give the total time, which is mostly transport. Read the second column.
| Type | Total time | Time at the canyon | Rim | Lands? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bus, West Rim | 11 to 12 hours | 3 to 4 hours | West | Not applicable |
| Bus, South Rim | 14 hours | 3 hours in the park | South | Not applicable |
| Small group van, West Rim | 9 to 12 hours | About 2.5 hours on the 9-hour sleep-late van; not stated on the 12-hour tours | West | Not applicable |
| Airplane flyover | 4 hours | A 70-minute flight, all in the air | West | No |
| Helicopter flyover | 3 to 4 hours | A 70 to 90 minute flight, all in the air | West | No |
| Helicopter with a rim landing | 2.5 to 4.5 hours | About 45 minutes (Skywalk Express) to about 3 hours | West | Yes, at Grand Canyon West |
| Plane, helicopter and boat | 7 hours | Helicopter to the canyon floor, a 15 to 20 minute pontoon ride, then the rim viewpoints | West | Yes, on the canyon floor |
| Van there, helicopter hop at the canyon | 10 hours | Eagle and Guano Points, plus about 20 minutes on the canyon floor | West | Yes, on the canyon floor |
| Grand Canyon plus Antelope Canyon | 17 hours | 1 hour | National park | Not applicable |
| Multi-day, several parks | 3 days | Not stated | Varies | Not applicable |
The coach tours are the cheapest by a wide margin and give the most canyon time per dollar, but you spend about seven hours on the bus. Small-group vans cost more; the best-reviewed one includes the Skywalk and both meals, but two others leave lunch out. A flyover is fast and you never touch the ground. On the helicopter and airplane tours here, heavier passengers buy an extra seat; the threshold is 250 lb on the 5 Star helicopter and 300 lb on most of the others. The helicopter tours guide covers operators, landing sites and weight rules in more detail.
Comparing the best Grand Canyon tours
Ranked by a review-weighted score, which favors a 4.8 across 500 reviews over a 5.0 across five, and limited to tours with at least 15 reviews.
| Tour | Duration | Price | Rating | Best For | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Small Group Grand Canyon Skywalk, Hoover Dam Tour
Top Pick
| 12 hours | $205 | ★ 4.8 (517) | Skywalk, breakfast and lunch all included | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour | 2.5 hours | $639 | ★ 4.8 (574) | The Skywalk in half a day, by helicopter | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon West & Hoover Dam Tour + Breakfast | 11 - 11.5 hours | $132 | ★ 4.7 (1906) | Budget West Rim bus; Skywalk is extra | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam & 7 Magic Mountains Tour | 12 hours | $211 | ★ 4.9 (203) | Small group that adds Seven Magic Mountains | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon West Rim Helicopter Tour | 3 hours | $529 | ★ 4.7 (394) | Helicopter below the rim, no landing | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon National Park South with Lunch, Free WiFi | 14 hours | $124 | ★ 4.6 (794) | The national park (South Rim) in a day | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon Helicopter Air Tour with Las Vegas Transfers | 4 hours | $409 | ★ 4.6 (336) | Helicopter flyover from Boulder City | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon West Airplane Air Tour with Las Vegas transfers | 4 hours | $214 | ★ 4.5 (1007) | Airplane flyover, 4 hours door to door | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon West Plane, Helicopter & Boat Tour from Vegas | 7 hours | $624 | ★ 4.6 (234) | Canyon floor and a river boat ride | Book on GetYourGuide |
Sleep Late Small Group Grand Canyon Skywalk Tour | 9 hours | $180 | ★ 5.0 (77) | No dawn pickup; Skywalk included | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon Tour & Helicopter Landing Experience | 10 hours | $616 | ★ 4.7 (105) | A short helicopter hop, not a long flight | Book on GetYourGuide |
Grand Canyon West Helicopter Tour | 4.5 hours | $549 | ★ 4.8 (80) | Helicopter there, about 3 hours on the rim | Book on GetYourGuide |
Prices and ratings from GetYourGuide; the checkout page shows the current price. Fees from nps.gov and grandcanyonwest.com, and tour details from each tour's own GetYourGuide listing, checked October 17, 2026. Multi-park combos are compared separately below.
My pick for most people
The small-group Skywalk and Hoover Dam tour (4.8 stars across 517 reviews). It goes to the West Rim, so the drive is manageable and there's no $100 nonresident fee, and the Skywalk ticket, breakfast and a picnic lunch are in the price, which the cheaper buses charge for separately. If the budget is tight, the most-reviewed West Rim bus is fine; just pick the Skywalk option when you book if you want it.
What the tour title doesn't tell you
Grand Canyon tour titles are written to catch searches, and several of the best-selling ones leave out the detail that would change your mind.
| Tour | Rating | What the listing says |
|---|---|---|
| Grand Canyon West & Hoover Dam Tour + Breakfast | 4.7 (1,906) | The "Hoover Dam Tour" is a photo stop plus the bypass bridge, not a tour of the dam. Lunch and the Skywalk are paid options you pick at booking. |
| Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam & 7 Magic Mountains Tour | 4.9 (203) | The title never says West Rim, but that is where it goes. Lunch and the Skywalk ticket are extras, listed at $30 for the Skywalk. You do get a walk on top of Hoover Dam. |
| Grand Canyon West Rim Helicopter Tour | 4.7 (394) | A helicopter flight that descends below the rim and returns over the Strip. It does not land, so you never stand on the canyon. |
| Grand Canyon West Airplane Air Tour with Las Vegas transfers | 4.5 (1,007) | An airplane flyover from the Boulder City terminal. It does not land. |
| Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour | 4.8 (574) | Lands at Grand Canyon West with Skywalk admission included, but hotel pickup is not: you meet at the heliport. About 45 minutes on the ground. |
| Small Group Grand Canyon Skywalk, Hoover Dam Tour | 4.8 (517) | The Skywalk pass really is included, along with breakfast, a picnic lunch and a guided walk on Hoover Dam. |
| Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend | 4.8 (2,074) | Sold as a Grand Canyon tour, but Antelope Canyon is the main event. The itinerary gives the Grand Canyon one hour of a 17-hour day. |
| Grand Canyon West Rim Tour with Optional Skywalk | 4.3 (737) | The Skywalk is optional: choose "Tour with Skywalk Entry Ticket" when you book, or it is not in the price. |
Two helicopter titles mislead as well. The "Helicopter Landing Experience" is a 10-hour road trip by van with helicopter legs of 10 to 12 minutes down to the canyon floor and back up; its own listing says it is not a flight from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon. And the "Plane, Helicopter and Boat" tour flies you to the canyon by airplane, 35 minutes each way from Boulder City, with the helicopter used only for the hop to the river.
The Hoover Dam stops differ too. The coach tours stop for photos, while the small-group Skywalk tour includes a guided walk on the dam and the Seven Magic Mountains tour includes a walk on top. If the dam itself is the point, see the Hoover Dam tours guide.
Book a Grand Canyon tour from Las Vegas
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Small Group Grand Canyon Skywalk, Hoover Dam Tour
★ 4.8 (517 reviews) · 12 hours · from $205
West Rim in a group of 12 or fewer, with 113 hotel pickup options and both meals
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon West & Hoover Dam Tour + Breakfast
★ 4.7 (1,906 reviews) · 11 - 11.5 hours · from $132
Picks up at 21 hotels and is listed as wheelchair accessible; Skywalk only if you add it
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon National Park South with Lunch, Free WiFi
★ 4.6 (794 reviews) · 14 hours · from $124
The South Rim and Mather Point with lunch; non-US residents add the $100 park fee
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour
★ 4.8 (574 reviews) · 2.5 hours · from $639
Over Lake Mead to a rim landing; needs four passengers to fly and ID for adults
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon West Rim Helicopter Tour
★ 4.7 (394 reviews) · 3 hours · from $529
Hotel pickup by Mercedes and a 90-minute flight below the rim; no landing
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon West Plane, Helicopter & Boat Tour from Vegas
★ 4.6 (234 reviews) · 7 hours · from $624
The only one here that puts you on the Colorado River, by pontoon
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon Helicopter Air Tour with Las Vegas Transfers
★ 4.6 (336 reviews) · 4 hours · from $409
A 70 to 75 minute flight with transfers from 8 hotels; cancel up to 24 hours ahead
Read our full review
Booking through these links supports this guide at no extra cost to you.
Who the expensive tours are for
Most of the money on this list sits in aircraft. The Skywalk Express helicopter is the fastest way to stand on the Skywalk from Las Vegas: about 45 minutes each way and about 45 minutes on the ground, with expedited Skywalk entry. It needs four passengers to fly, adults need a REAL ID or passport, and you cancel at least 72 hours ahead. I'd book it only with a single free afternoon and the Skywalk as the goal. For time at the canyon it's a poor deal: the 4.5-hour Maverick helicopter tour gives about 3 hours on the rim.
The 5 Star helicopter flyover and the Boulder City helicopter air tour are for people who want the canyon from the air and don't care about landing. The airplane flyover is the cheaper version of the same idea, with a 70-minute flight and pickup from eight Strip and Downtown hotels. None of the three lands.
If you want to stand at the bottom, the plane, helicopter and boat tour and the van-plus-helicopter tour both land on the canyon floor. The plane tour is shorter (7 hours) and adds the boat; the van tour is 10 hours, includes lunch, and spends less time in the air. On both, the Skywalk is an extra.
Combos and multi-day tours
The most-reviewed tour that mentions the Grand Canyon is not really a Grand Canyon tour. The Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon and Horseshoe Bend day trip is 17 hours, and the itinerary gives the national park one hour. Entry to Lower Antelope Canyon, the national park and Horseshoe Bend is included, as is lunch; the $100 nonresident fee is not. The shared version meets at the Bellagio rather than picking up at your hotel, the group is capped at 12, and Horseshoe Bend is a 1.5-mile round-trip walk with no shade. Book it if Antelope Canyon is what you came for. The Antelope Canyon tours guide covers that side, including the time-zone question for Page.
The three-day tour adds Bryce Canyon and Zion to the Grand Canyon and Antelope Canyon, with two hotel nights.
Grand Canyon combined with other parks
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend
★ 4.8 (2,074 reviews) · 17 hours · from $346
Book it for Antelope Canyon; the shared tour meets at the Bellagio
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Grand Canyon, Antelope, Bryce and Zion 3-Day Tour
★ 4.7 (257 reviews) · 3 days · from $590
Two hotel nights and the Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion and Antelope entrances in the price
Read our full review
Booking through these links supports this guide at no extra cost to you.
The winter clock change
Arizona doesn't observe daylight saving time and Nevada does. From November 1, 2026 to March 14, 2027, Arizona is one hour ahead of Las Vegas. The rest of the year, the clocks match.
It catches people who drive themselves to Grand Canyon West, which posts its hours in Arizona time. In winter, the last ticket is at 4:30pm and the park closes at 6pm, which is 3:30pm and 5pm on a Las Vegas clock. In summer, last entry is 5:30pm and closing is 7pm, and your phone and the gate agree.
Summer heat
Las Vegas averages about 105°F in July. The West Rim is only somewhat cooler than the Strip: an old station near Grand Canyon West averaged about 96°F in July. The South Rim, at about 6,800 feet, averages about 87°F, and the North Rim about 79°F. In summer, the West Rim viewpoints are hot, sunny and exposed, so bring water and a hat even if the tour supplies water. In winter, the South Rim is the one to dress for.
Driving yourself
The West Rim drive crosses the Hoover Dam bypass, runs down US-93 and finishes on Pierce Ferry Road and Diamond Bar Road. Grand Canyon West says the main roads are paved, parking is free, and private cars stop at the terminal lots; from there everyone rides the free shuttle. You don't need a reservation. If you arrive after 3pm, the $59 Sunset Pass includes the Skywalk and is cheaper than General Admission.
Grand Canyon West also sells its own bus from Las Vegas directly, at $189 per person with the All-Access Pass and a Hoover Dam photo stop, on grandcanyonwest.com.
At the South Rim, Hermit Road is closed to private cars through November 30, 2026; the Red Route shuttle covers it. Cars under 22 feet can drive it from December to February.
Practical notes for booking
Pickup times aren't published on most listings; the Seven Magic Mountains tour leaves at 7am, and the others confirm a time after you book. During F1 week, November 18 to 22, 2026, the South Rim bus picks up only at Excalibur, Park MGM or Treasure Island. Gratuities are excluded on every listing that mentions them, and Gray Line suggests 15 to 20%. Free cancellation windows differ: 24 hours on the small-group Skywalk tour and the main West Rim buses, two days on the 5 Star helicopter, three days on the Skywalk Express.
At the Skywalk itself, phones are now allowed on the glass, according to Grand Canyon West's FAQ, but cameras and bags go in the free lockers.
Grand Canyon tours with a full review
Full breakdown, pricing, and where to book each one:
Common questions
How far is the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas?
It depends on the rim. Grand Canyon West, where the Skywalk is, is about 127 miles from the middle of the Strip; plan on 2.5 to 3 hours. The South Rim, inside Grand Canyon National Park, is about 281 miles and about 4 hours 45 minutes with no stops. The North Rim is about 270 miles and close to 5 hours.
Should I do the West Rim or the South Rim from Las Vegas?
For a day trip, the West Rim. It is about half the drive, so a bus tour gives you 3 to 4 hours at the canyon in an 11 to 12 hour day. The South Rim is the national park and the bigger view, but the standard bus tour is 14 hours with 3 hours in the park. With two days, or a car and a room nearby, the South Rim is the better canyon.
Can I use my national park pass at Grand Canyon West?
No. Grand Canyon West's own FAQ says National Park passes are not accepted, because it is run by the Hualapai Tribe and is not part of Grand Canyon National Park. At the Grand Canyon, an America the Beautiful pass covers the South Rim and the North Rim.
Do international visitors pay the $100 fee on a Grand Canyon tour?
On a South Rim tour, yes. Grand Canyon National Park charges non-US residents aged 16 and over a $100 per-person fee on top of entry in 2026, including people on commercial tours, unless they hold an annual or America the Beautiful pass. The nonresident America the Beautiful pass is $250. On a West Rim tour, no: Grand Canyon West is Hualapai land, not a national park, and the fee does not apply there.
Is the Skywalk included in Grand Canyon tours from Las Vegas?
Only on some. The small-group Skywalk and Hoover Dam tour, the sleep-late small-group tour and the Skywalk Express helicopter include it. The two most-reviewed West Rim buses sell it as an option, and one popular small-group tour lists it as a $30 extra. Helicopter and airplane flyovers that do not land never include it.
Do helicopter tours from Las Vegas go to the national park?
No. Every helicopter tour sold from Las Vegas goes to Grand Canyon West, on the Hualapai Reservation and outside the national park. Maverick's South Rim helicopter flight takes off from Grand Canyon National Park Airport, not Las Vegas.
Can you visit the North Rim from Las Vegas in 2026?
Only on your own, and not as a day tour. The National Park Service has the North Rim open through November 30, 2026, or until the first major snowstorm. The historic Grand Canyon Lodge burned in the 2025 Dragon Bravo Fire, so there is no lodging there in 2026. The campground is closed for the year, the gas station has closed for the season and the nearest fuel is at Jacob Lake.
What time is it at the Grand Canyon compared with Las Vegas?
Arizona does not change its clocks, and Nevada does. From November 1, 2026 to March 14, 2027, Arizona is one hour ahead of Las Vegas, so Grand Canyon West's 4:30pm last entry is 3:30pm on a Las Vegas clock. The rest of the year the two clocks match.
Check rates and availability
The coach and small-group canyon tours above collect guests from Strip hotels, so where you sleep sets your pickup point. Compare Las Vegas hotels for your dates.
Expedia's total should include the resort fee; room tax can still be added at checkout.
Affiliate link. If you book through it we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.
Disclosure: booking links on this page go to GetYourGuide or Expedia. If you book through one, this site earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions don't decide which tours are recommended or how they rank; see how tours are ranked.